The Upside of Being Single Review

IMG_2642

Synopsis:

If anyone asks, I knew better than to flash my boobs for Mardi Gras beads.

I still don’t know why I did it.
Maybe it was the dare from my two best friends.
Maybe it was the guys on the balcony saying they’d throw Fireball shots with the beads.
Or maybe it was the quiet guy in the corner of that same balcony with piercing gray eyes, wavy dark hair, and a smile so tempting I wanted to climb up there and lick it off his face.
Maybe it was because I never thought I’d see them again.
Not that it matters. Not today.
Because the hotel I manage was finally bought—and the guy who walks in and introduces himself as my new boss is Mr. Tall, Dark, and Silent.

There are many upsides to being single.
Your new boss knowing what your boobs look like?
Not one of them.

My Thoughts

I turned to this book after craving more romantic comedies, but I was not ready to turn back to R.S. Grey, I am trying to stretch out her books instead of binging them all in a row, but Amazon recommended The Upside of Being Single to me after I finished The Beau & The Belle and it sounded intriguing.

At first I adored Mellie. She is a spit fire, slightly a hot mess and completely relatable. But the whole clumsy thing stopped being funny after awhile. It was at first like when she first encounters her new boss and drops the gin all the floor was funny, but the other times it got annoying. I didn’t stop liking Millie, I just didn’t love her.

As for Jake, I loved him! Although come on now how can you get away with the things he did in that office and not get in trouble with HR? And some of his commentary made me shudder. I know it’s supposed to be funny, but some of it hit the mark. At least for me.

So I kind of got the things I didn’t love about the story so here are the things that I freaking loved about this story. Starting with the friendships. Mellie has the best friends and I loved their friendship in this story,  I need more of them please! Millie is not your usual heroine. She is strong, independent and funny! Her banters with Jake were priceless. Plus I would love to go out and get donuts with her. Third the sexual tensions in this book was so, so, so good! I also love how Emma Hart showed how being single is fun.

If you are looking for a fun, quick, and has a great focus on friendship then this is a book for you!

Happy reading!

XO

Leave a comment